I’m just sayin’ … honesty isn’t always kind

This is a really good article and Donna makes some great points here.

A Year of Living Kindly

“Today I bent the truth to be kind, and I have no regret, for I am far surer of what is kind than I am of what is true.” (Robert Brault)

Attribution: Donna Cameron“I’m just saying this for your own good.”

“Don’t be so thin-skinned. I’m just telling it like it is.”

“Hey, I call it like I see it.”

“Jeesh, you’re so touchy!”

These phrases are often used to justify saying hurtful things. Sometimes the speaker may really believe that the listener needs to hear his unvarnished opinion about the poor sap’s looks, abilities, opinions, or prospects.

Speaking on behalf of poor saps everywhere, we don’t. We don’t need someone to tell us all the things that are wrong with us or all the things we don’t do as well as we should. That’s what that persistent little voice in our own head does—and it doesn’t need any help.

There are…

View original post 917 more words

2 thoughts on “I’m just sayin’ … honesty isn’t always kind

    1. Donna, this is a topic that is close to my heart, as I am both one who hates to hear these things said to me or those I care about and one who has a hard time not saying them myself. So, your message really struck home with me. I am far too blunt far too often and, despite my decade plus as a freemason, the Masonic Virtue of silence has never really sunk into me as a daily habit. Thank you for reminding me (and whoever is reading your blog and this one) that silence can be a form of kindness, as can a white lie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

