How do you Handle Panhandling?

Some good thinking here — and the linked articles are well worth reading, as well. KUDOS to the authors.

Soma

Yesterday when my sisters, my mom, and I went shopping, we were exiting the shopping complex when I saw a man and his family standing on the side of the road. He was holding a cardboard sign that said something along the lines of “Homeless. Need job. Please Help.” I looked at him as we made a left turn, both of us squinting at each other in the bright sun and thought about how much I wanted to help him and how much I didn’t want him to be standing on the side of the road, holding a sign, and asking (begging sounds too intense for me- it makes me think of people on their knees) for a job.

He was one of two people I saw that day, homeless and looking for a job or money, as well as one of the many who reside in our area (despite it being…

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

